Behind the Eyes (NaPoWriMo 11)

The eyes are closed
and seeing nothing
blissful black
but bright
colors start to swirl
stunning
yellow and white and pink
deny the quiet
they pound
on the inside of the head
pulsing, pushing, throbbing
almost sick
heat reddens my cheeks
probably
closed eyes are unable to see
weakness overcomes
every limb and bodypart
as they surrender to fatigue
I open my eyes and fall asleep.

 

The challenge for today was to write a poem which describes an object or a place in great detail and ends with a more abstract line, that only seemingly doesn’t have anything to do with the rest of the poem. But at the moment, I am so tired from my first day back into university-routine, that I cannot put myself in the position of an object or place enough to write in such detail about it. Instead I did it the other way around, that is to say describing a more abstract feeling and ending on a concrete line.

Auf NaPoWriMo.net war die Anregung heute ein Gedicht zu schreiben, in dem man ein Objekt oder einen Ort sehr genau beschreibt, das aber auf einer abstrakteren Zeile endet, die nur scheinbar nichts mit dem Rest des Gedichtes zu tun hat. Im Moment bin ich aber so müde von meinem ersten Tag zurück in der Uni-Routine, dass ich es einfach nicht schaffe mich so genau mit einem Objekt oder Ort auseinander zu setzen – ich komme nicht aus mir hinaus. Stattdessen habe ich es genau andersherum gemacht, d.h. ein eher abstraktes Gefühl beschrieben und mit einem sehr konkreten Vers aufgehört. Und jetzt ins Bett!

Ein Gedanke zu “Behind the Eyes (NaPoWriMo 11)

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 11 – “Bittersweet Memories Feeding The Senses” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Kommentar verfassen

