Waiting (NaPoWriMo 23)

What most of us do most of all is wait
We don’t have better things to do
We do not dare to start, we’re too afraid
and work is not what lazy ones pursue

We sit at busstops and in waiting rooms
as if we’re stunned, impossible to move
we’re passive, sitting, waiting for our doom
we’re unable to even disaprove

Yet what we need to do is grow above
our limitations, leave them far behind
For water rises, flooding secret coves
warhawks hunt doves all over humankind

And waiting cannot save us and the earth,
Do good! Working to help leads to new birth

 

The prompt over at NaPoWriMo.net was to write a sonnet, something I’d never done before, so this is my first attempt at this form. I couldn’t help but somehow return to yesterday’s topic.

Heute sollten wir ein Sonnett schreiben, das hier ist jetzt mein allererster Versuch, dieser Form gerecht zu werden – vorher habe ich mich ehrlich gesagt nicht ran getraut. Ich bin auch erstmal übers Ziel hinaus geschossen beim Schreiben und habe eine Strophe zu viel geschrieben, aber das war vielleicht auch gut, denn so ist das ganze kompakter geworden. Das Thema von gestern hat mich allerdings noch nicht losgelassen, wie man sieht.

Kommentar verfassen

