Delight

Nightfall had come slowly
with orange and pink softness
The longest day was
Over.
We stood
Awed
in a dome of glowing lights
under the leafy dark canopy
mirrored
in yet another dome above
and as we ventured out
I understood
for the first time
the meaning of starlight
There was no moon
to guide our path
yet unerred footsteps
took us back
The rushing of ocean waves
filled our hearts
and was mirrored in the rushing of wings
as our souls took flight…

This is a poem about a beautiful moment in time in a beautiful place on earth – a warm summer night in a glow worm grotto in Hicks Bay, New Zealand. By the way, I am not really happy with the title, which seems too small for the feeling and the poem. If you can think of a better one, please comment!
//The original title was „starlight“, but I’ve changed it according to a suggestion I got in response to this post.

Dieses Gedicht ist ein Versuch einen wunderschönen Moment an einem wunderschönen Ort festzuhalten. Erlebt habe ich diesen Moment in einer warmen Sommernacht in einer glow worm grotto (glow worms sind eben keine Glühwürmchen, aber auch sie leuchten im Dunkeln) in Neuseeland.
Übrigens bin ich nicht so ganz zufrieden mit dem Titel, der mir einfach ungenügend für dieses Gefühl und das daraus resultierende Gedicht vorkommt. Wenn jemanden also etwas besseres einfällt: Ich freue mich über Vorschläge in den Kommentaren!
//Anmerkung: Der ursprüngliche Titel war Starlight, mittlerweile habe ich ihn nach einem Vorschlag angepasst.